• FW
  • /
  • Dissolution of Parliament for the General Election 2019
Dr Philippa Whitford MP and Ayrshire. Central portrait photo by Alex Todd © 2016.

On Tuesday 29th October, the UK Parliament voted to hold a UK General Election on 12th December 2019. Accordingly, Parliament will be dissolved at 00hrs01 on Wednesday 6th November 2019.

During the dissolution period there are no Members of the UK Parliament.  Consequently, strict limitations are imposed on what I can and cannot do during this time and, as a Parliamentary Candidate, I will be unable to take any new cases forward.

Please be assured that my team and I will continue to work on existing cases in an attempt to have them resolved prior to the General Election on Thursday 12th December.  My constituency office will remain open from 10am – 12 noon and 2pm – 4pm Monday to Friday up to the day of the General Election.

Below is list of other possible contacts for any issues you may need assistance with.

Should you wish to contact me as a Parliamentary Candidate, please email me at info@drphilippasnp.scot

Regardless of the outcome of the election on 12th December, it has been a privilege to represent the people of Central Ayrshire for the last four and half years.


Contacts During Dissolution Period 

If you have an issue you would like assistance with, you may consider contacting your MSP in the absence of your MP until the result of the Parliamentary election is known:


For constituents in Prestwick and Troon
Ayr – John Scott MSP – Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party


Constituency Office – 17 Wellington Square, Ayr   KA7 1EZ

01292 286251

Q2.01, The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh   EH99 1SP

0131 348 5664  0131 348 5000



For constituents in Kyle
Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley – Jeane Freeman MSP – Scottish National Party Constituency Office

01290 4258760

T3.23  The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh  EH99 1SP

0131 348 6745



For constituents in Irvine & Kilwinning
Cunninghame South – Ruth Maguire MSP – Scottish National Party Constituency Office – 14 Eglinton Street, Irvine  KA12 8AS

01294 276730

M4.13, The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh   EH99 1SP




Emergency Telephone Numbers


Contact North Ayrshire Council for help with all general enquiries. Calls are directed to our Contact Centre where a Customer Services Advisor will assist you Housing Repairs – 01294 310000


Homelessness 0800 0196 500
Roads & Lighting 01294 310000
Trunk Road Repairs – Road & Lighting Faults (A78, A737, A738 0800 028 1414
Email contactus@north-ayrshire.gov.uk
Address can access social services, housing, registrations, council tax and benefits services at our Customer Service Centre, Bridgegate House, Irvine  KA12 8BD


Call 0300 123 0900 or use the out of hours / emergency phone numbers
Social Work 01292 267 675
Out of hours: 0800 811 505


In person or write to us   Visit one of our customer service centres or write to us at:  South Ayrshire Council, County Buildings, Wellington Square, Ayr  KA7 1DR


Other emergency contacts


Adult Support and Protection (Out of Hours Response Service) 0800 328 7758
Alcoholics Anonymous 0800 9177 650
Crimestoppers 0800 555 111
National Grid National Emergency Service 0800 111 999
NHS24 111
Police Scotland In an emergency call 999 and for non-emergencies call 101
Scottish Fire and Rescue Service 999
Scottish Water 0800 0778 778
Scottish Power 0800 092 9290
The Samaritans 01563 531 313
Women’s Aid 0800 027 1234


About the author 

Heather Knox

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}